Panthers vs. Buccaneers – I guess that makes me a football… fan?

5 Dec

So I know its been awhile since my last post but if you want me to be honest with you its kind of hard to stay committed to something when it takes a lot of time but you don’t get paid for it. But since I now know I have at least one person who is a fan of my writing I am going to persevere as best I can to please the masses. With that being said, last weekend Wes and I went to my very first Panthers game in Charlotte! My friend Marissa and her fiance, also Wes (hehehe) came with us! Apparently I was the only one who wasn’t really a follower of football games, I didn’t think Marissa was that into football but when we got in the van she starts naming all these players and dropping stats and totally left me out there in the dark with the rest of the female population who couldn’t really give a rats behind about football. But anywho,  I’m so proud I have a friend who can talk to my boyfriend about football so I don’t have to! Thanks Marissa!

Sold Out Stadium

Sold Out Stadium

So we started the day leaving Raleigh at 8am to get to Charlotte by 11. Of course Marissa and her Wes were totally prepared with breakfast, coffee, 5 bottles of champagne, orange juice and panthers cups to drink our mimosas in. Me and my Wes showed up hungry, thirsty, tired and cold looking like a mess and completely unprepared for anything. Figures! i’ve decided to make my New Years resolutions 1. to be more prepared for fun events and 2. to wake up earlier everyday 3. to not be such a mess. Easy enough, right?

panther3

Looking all cute in her Panthers gear

The one thing we did do right was get to Charlotte a little early so we had time to stop at a bar for some food and drinks.. we ate at a cute little Irish pub, where the two Wesley’s were bribing the waitress to serve us beer before 12. The game started at 1 so after eating we briskly walked to the stadium with plenty of time to spare. Until I was told that my bag was too big to be brought into the stadium. of course I would be the one to not realize they had bag requirements! Luckily darry and the van were only 5 minutes away so I was able to drop my stuff off and run back towards security! After waiting on a ridiculous line we finally made it into the arena and to our seats! We were in the nosebleeds but we got out tickets for $32 — can’t beat that.

Panthers1Even though watching football on TV isn’t my favorite activity.. I LOVE going to the games. The energy, the crazy fans, the beer, the NACHOS. Its all great! When we got to our seats we realized we were seated right in front of 4 psychotic fans.. they were great don’t get me wrong but apparently we were one of the only people who found them amusing. (Now that I think of it I’m pissed I didn’t get a picture with them!). They all had tattoos and gauges in their ears and were probably mid 30s, large and in charge men. They were drinking and screaming and making fun of every single person in their line of sight. I found them hilarious but the girls next to me didn’t agree.. a few words were exchanged but in the end no one got punched in the face so it was a success! I considered the events double the entertainment value. The Panthers ending up having a great game and beat the buc’s 27 – 6 which brought the Panthers to their 8th consecutive win! Not too shabby if I say so myself.. GO PANTHERS! I think I picked a good year to become a Panthers fan, and I’m pretty sure this is the reason they’ve been winning. You’re welcome Cam.

panthers4All in all we had an amazing day with our friends watching our team win! And it worked out for me in the end because Wes bought me the cutest little Panthers hat with a pom pom on it to celebrate our victory.. woo hoo!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

