A Day of Vegan Baking

23 Sep

So I’ve had a little too much time on my hands lately. Having 1 week on and 2 weeks off at Fedora, means that for the last week I have not had to wake up at 5:30am. Sometimes I actually sleep until 10 or 11 and get in a full 9 hours of sleep or more. Its actually not as fun as it sounds and has left me feeling like my schedule is lacking its usual luster of non stop, back to back activities. So what to do with all this free time you ask? I decided to use a couple of my surplus hours experimenting with vegan desserts for my wonderful vegan best friend, Luca. Let me throw it out there that Luca is a tough critic.. not easily impressed by ordinary vegan grub. This has led me to experiment with multiple cupcake recipes trying to obtain the perfect non-vegan consistency for my Italian love. Easy. Right? Turns out.. not so much. Not having the proper tools in my apartment (no measuring cups, no scale, no mixer) has led me to get creative with my prepping.

The Ingredients: Eggless, Milkless, Butterless

The first batch was made from a quite famous vegan chocolate cake recipe from the book The Joy of Vegan Baking… having happily perused some recipes in this book it was an obvious starting point. The result? Disgustingness. Straight in the rubbish pile. Let me say that this result was in no way due to any fault of my own. Well I mean, there may be a slight possibility, but either way… horrible. These things came out like chocolate rocks. There was no way I was showing up at our vegan dinner with dense, hard, gritty cupcakes.

Trying to make this work in my tiny convection oven

Onto batch number two. The ingredients made me feel a little more confident, this one included soy milk and used more oil. As I was whisking away in my tiny kitchen i was already having a little more faith in batch number two, the consistency of the batter seemed more authentic to cupcakes and the smell was already great. Into the oven they went, 15 minutes later out they came!

Batch 2 ready for baking

Anxiously, I waited for batch 2 to cool so I could dig in for the taste test! Result: 10x better than batch 1 but still not perfect. The consistency was more cupcake-y but they seemed really rich and left me dying for a glass of water. At least this time they were soft. Since our family vegan dinner is tonight at Vanessa’s house, I have run out of time to experiment with batch 3. but rest assured I WILL perfect these fucking cupcakes.

Vegan yumminess

Next task: vegan chocolate icing and Luca’s stamp of approval. Wish me luck!

Quick Update: The finished product with a vegan chocolate glaze

Scrumptious

Leave a Reply

