Back in Italia and It Feels So Good

17 Sep

Ciao Amici! I have been extremely lazy with my blogging lately and its most likely because I’ve been extremely busy getting back in the swing of things in Firenze. I started my baking and pastry program at Apicius two weeks ago and have been going non-stop ever since! They really like to keep you busy at this school.. my schedule for the last week as been as follows:

Monday – Friday: Wake up at 5:30am head to Fedora to bake. and bake. and bake. Until 5:30 in the afternoon. Race down to the other side of town to make a 6pm yoga class (on Thursday’s I’m the teacher! woo hooo) After that I either make time to see friends at aperitivo or dinner or just decide to cut my losses and head to bed since I have to do it all again in the morning. While my days have been insane lately they are so much fun! I’ve learned how to make bread, millefoglie, biscotti, macaroons, and I have of course got my hazelnut butter cream down to a science. I can roll out short pastry like a pro but if anyone makes me eat ANYTHING else made out of puff pastry I’ll probably lose it. Whats the obsession with puff pastry anyway? As far as I’m concerned, unless it’s a good old buttery french croissant, I’m not into it.

Here’s some pics of the amazingness I get to bake on a daily basis: (also be sure to check out my super sexy uniform – I’m not going to lie the pants are super cozy and I thoroughly enjoy wearing them)

Almond Macaroons!

Slicing up some bread for our bread class

My absolute favorite dessert ever… the fruit tart.

Millefoglie

Biscotti with Almonds

Some more breads of Italy

So thats what I’ve been up to for these last few weeks and I couldn’t be more excited to head back into that bakery in 30 minutes (I know that sounded sarcastic but I actually am really excited – more breads today! yayy)

Breakfast pastries stuffed with apples and butter cream, sounds good but made of puff pastry so no i’m not freaking eating it

 

Life in Italy has definitely been treating me well for the last nine months which has led me to this one thought that has been on my mind since I returned to Florence: sorry USA, I love you, but no, I am never coming back.

Baking!

 

3 Responses to “Back in Italia and It Feels So Good”

  1. Toni Sequina Rodriguez September 17, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    They all look so lovely and absolutely delicious! I wish you the best Sarita! Titi Loves you and I am so very proud of you and your accomplishments.

  2. Jamie-Lee September 17, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    First things first…I would eat a tarantula if it was inside of a puff pastry. How do you not like puff pastry you crazy vegetarian?!

    That food looks delicious! You are one amazing baker, I don’t even have to taste it because anything that looks that good has to taste great.

    Lastly let’s not go making absolute remarks about never coming back to the good old US of A. Let us hold on to a little sliver of hope. Or maybe I’ll just have to have a ton of kids so that you always have to be flying home for birth. Lol.

Leave a Reply

