The Hike to Montjuic: Barcelona, Spain

13 Jun

My last day in Barcelona was met with mixed emotions; On the one hand, I had to say goodbye to one of my best friends (Ms. Ashley of course) but on the other hand, I was excited to head back to my beloved Florence. So how do you spend your last day in a glorious city that boosts so many wonderful activities? I was thinking the FREE WAY. Because after a two week trek through Morocco and Spain, my wallet had had ENOUGH (that walk through Louis Vuitton didn’t help either but what can ya do?). Since it was 75 and sunny, as it always seems to be in Barcelona, my new friend Roman and I decided to hike up to Montjuic castle/fort.

One obviously can’t start a hung over, two hour uphill hike without a €6 chai tea latte so that was the first stop before we headed up (note to Italy, I know your coffee rocks and all but its really hard for me to live without my Starbucks.. can you work on that for me?). After taking in the views at the first stop we kept on climbing.. and climbing.. and climbing…

part of the climb

3/4 of the way up this happened…

Please let me sleep here!

Roman wouldn’t let me sleep so I had to continue the trek to the top and this is what we found…

Entrance to the fort

The best parts of the attraction were the amazing views of the city of Barcelona and the awesome cannons that we got to climb on:

I ❤ Barca

Old cannons… yayy!

I didn’t actually research anything about Montjuic so if you want to know why its there and what it was used for, you’re definitely looking to the wrong person for answers. What I do know however, is that the hike up was the perfect way to spend my last day in Barca. The combination of new friends, beautiful sunny weather, and a little bit of exercise however, was what made the day so special (I also mentioned this was all free, right?!). If you only have a short amount of time in Barcelona I wouldn’t consider it a must see, but if you’re looking for a way to spend the day outside and want to avoid the crowds of Park Guell, go for it! You won’t be disappointed.. you can also take one of those big red tourist buses to the top if you don’t feel like making the trek up on your own

more cannons

Which way should we go?! We chose left

We found this guy making the trek to the top… he’s doing his part to save the planet!

Thanks for reading and stayed tuned for more European adventures!

Love and light,

Sara

4 Responses to “The Hike to Montjuic: Barcelona, Spain”

  1. / June 13, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

    Nice job Sara, The view looked great.Do you need a new pair of sneakers?
    The red bag has seen a lot of places.

    • Shit Sara Says June 14, 2012 at 6:53 am #

      I need new sneakers AND a new bag! That bag is in every single one of my pics.. I need to change it up! haha

  2. Jamie-Lee June 14, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    Barca looks beautiful! Now a few comments about your pictures: 1. I don’t speak Spanish but I’m pretty sure in that picture where you came to a fork in the road there was a large do not enter sign going towards the right. Lol. Good thing your intuition pointed you in the right direction. And 2. Cats rule! You don’t see dogs picking up litter on the street.

    Love the blog. Keep it up.

    • Shit Sara Says June 15, 2012 at 8:14 am #

      haha that sign was for cars not people! and listen, don’t get all carried away but i’m not completely hating on cats anymore. That DOES NOT mean I like them however.. just appreciating their good qualities a little more

Leave a Reply

