Munich Springfest and The Steins That Come With It.

23 Apr

ImageSo its that time of year again! Don’t let the photo fool you… no, its not yet time for Oktoberfest but it is time for SPRINGFEST! Or Frühlingsfest as they growl in German.

I don’t think Springfest needs much explaining but if you are one of the neophytes that have never been to a beer festival in Germany I’ll give you a little run down with these bullet points:

1. There is an endless supply of beer

2. They are sold in different sizes. The most popular/important size being the Stein (approx. 1 litre. yay!)

3. About every 15 minutes the band plays the “ein Prosit der Gemütlichkeit” which is a lovely folk song that ends with hundreds of drunk people “prosit-ing” their steins

4. If you stand on the table to chug your stein (like many awesome people do) you better finish it. If not, you will be boo-ed, or worse…

5. Munich is home to the greatest beer festivals in the world. Other cities, beware, you can’t compete with the Germans.

Image

My first time experiencing Oktoberfest was great since I got to indulge in the amazing bratwurst and other traditional Bavarian food. But two years have gone by and I am now a vegetarian. Therefore, I was forced to snack on unexpectedly incredible chocolate covered fruit… please see photo below:

Image

(I know what you’re thinking.. the chocolate covered bananas seem tricky to eat in public and in fact, they were. I advise you to go with the same routine as eating a regular banana in public, something I like to call the “rip and slip”. First you rip off a bite-sized piece of banana then slip it quickly into your mouth before attracting unwanted attention).

Moral of the story..

Go to Munich. Drink Beer.

Much love and Namaste,

Sara

Image

3 Responses to “Munich Springfest and The Steins That Come With It.”

  1. Jamie-Lee April 24, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

    Lol. The rip and slip. One day that will be on a banana infomercial and I will know that I heard it here first.

    Love the post.

  2. Barbara Brymer April 28, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

    Hi Sara, it’s Barbara, Danny’s Mom……Jamie-Lee was here today & I just wanted to reach out & say “hi”…I hope you are having fun & being careful (just being like a Mother) You look great..stay well…

    • Shit Sara Says April 29, 2012 at 6:59 am #

      Hi Barbara! I am having a blast I hope all is well by you, don’t worry, the more mothers the better… 4 just isn’t enough and sometimes I need someone to smack some sense into me! haha miss you guys!

Leave a Reply

